The Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS) of the University of Colombo is a pioneer Graduate Faculty in Sri Lanka established in 1987. It was established by the Universities Act 16 of 1978 and the Faculty of Graduate Studies Ordinance No. 3 of 1987. The mandate of the FGS is to “sponsor, coordinate and regulate postgraduate studies and specialized or multi-disciplinary research carried out within the University of Colombo.”

Today FGS conducts twenty nine (29) Postgraduate programs and four (4) non–postgraduate diplomas. Among the programmes offered there are four (4) Executive Diplomas, fourteen (14) Postgraduate Diplomas and thirteen (13) Masters Programmes, one (1) MPhil Programme (Master of Philosophy in Clinical Psychology) and highly structured interdisciplinary MPhil/PhD programme. Resource Persons are drawn from Senior Academic Staff of the University of Colombo, as well as from the Industrial Sector.

The Council of the University of Colombo, the Senate, Faculty Board of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, Board of Study for Development Studies and the Board of Study for Professional Studies comprises the Governing structure. The Dean Faculty of Graduate Studies is appointed for a term of three years by the Vice Chancellor on the recommendation of the Council of the University of Colombo.



To foster excellence, creativity and innovation in graduate education of Sri Lanka.


To provide advanced knowledge at postgraduate level and create human capital for growth and development.


The Deans of the Faculty of Graduate Studies since inception

Professor A.A. Azeez (Professor in Finance)Present Dean (from 01-03-2022)
Professor Nayani Melegoda (Professor in International Relations)2016-2022
Professor Sunil Chandrasiri (Professor in Economics)2008-2015
Professor Lakshman Dissanayake (Professor in Demography) 2005-2008
Professor Laksiri Fernando (Professor in Political Science) 2003-2005
Professor Kusuma Karunaratne (Professor in Sinhala) 2000-2003
Professor Thilak Hettiarchchy (Professor in Sociology)1998-2000
Professor W.D. Lakshman (Professor in Economics) 1994-1998
Professor Chandra Rodrigo (Professor in Economics) 1990-1993
Professor R.S. Ramakrishna (Professor in Chemistry) 1988-1990


The Dean

Professor A.A. Azeez
Ph.D, Yokohama National University, Japan
Tel: (+94) 11 2502127
Fax: (+94) 11 2591395

View Profile


Senior Assistant Registrar

Mr. P.M.K Subaweera
Tel:(+94) 11 2505845
Fax:(+94) 11 2591395



Assistant Bursar

Mrs. R.A.N.W. Rajpaksha
Tel: (+94) 11 2502127
Fax: (+94) 11 2591395



Director of Studies

Prof. K. Dissanayake
Tel: (+94) 11 2055656
Fax: (+94) 11 2591395